Midwest Prototyping News

Midwest Prototyping Named Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winner


Midwest Prototyping was announced as a Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winner for Emerging Technology. Nominated in both 2015 and 2016 as a manufacturer of the year, the award was presented February 23, 2017 at the annual reception dinner honoring the 26 nominees.

The annual Manufacturer of the Year Awards Program recognizes Wisconsin companies that demonstrate a commitment to business excellence, for their positive impact, making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and play. 

“First and foremost, being recognized as a Manufacturer of the Year award winner is a testament to the incredible efforts put forth by the Midwest team.  Every day, our clients trust us to bring their projects to life, and every day, the entire staff at Midwest rises to the challenge,” said Steve Grundahl, President and Founder of Midwest Prototyping. "For additive manufacturing to be recognized at this level, on the same stage with so many strong traditional manufacturing companies is a breakthrough moment for our industry as well as our company - one that has us even more excited for the future."


In its 29th year, the Manufacturer of the Year Awards Program recognizes companies of all sizes for all they do to drive Wisconsin's economy. Companies were evaluated in areas such as financial growth or consistency, technological advances, product development, environmental solutions and sustainability, operational excellence and continuous improvement, commitment to employees and effective research and development. Award winners were selected by an independent panel of judges. 

"Our state's manufacturers are a critical part of Wisconsin's heritage and Wisconsin's future," said Kurt R. Bauer, President/CEO of Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce. "We are proud to honor many of the manufacturers at this program that are utilizing new technologies and innovation that will change the way we look at the industry."

Four Grand Award winners, categorized by number of employees, were recognized for impeccable performance. This year, three companies were also honored for awards in special categories, including community stewardship, market adaptability and emerging technology.

The accounting and advisory firm of Baker Tilly, the law firm of Michael Best and the business association Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce sponsor the Manufacturer of the Year Awards Program.



29th Annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners: 

Grand Awards: 
General Plastics, Milwaukee - Small Category 
Hyrdo-Thermal Corporation, Waukesha - Medium Category 
Mortara Instrument, Inc., Milwaukee - Large Category 
Greenheck Fan Corporation, Schofield - Mega Category 

Special Award Winners:
Sargento Food, Inc., Plymouth - Community Stewardship
Orion Energy Systems, Manitowoc - Market Adaptability
Midwest Prototyping, Blue Mounds - Emerging Technology

All News Items